Coolidge Corner Theater


The Coolidge Corner Theatre was built as a church in 1906 and was redesigned as an Art Deco movie palace in 1933. After falling into disrepair and financial hardship in the 1980’s the theatre was purchased by the Hamilton Charitable Foundation in 1989 and then leased to the Coolidge Corner Theatre for 99 years. A capital improvements campaign was then undertaken by the Coolidge Corner Theatre and with Hamilton Construction Management Corp at the helm, an extensive restoration and rebranding of the building was launched.

The restoration of many of the original art deco features of the building was embraced as part of the project including the refurbishment of the intricate plaster ceiling mural above the main house and the resurrection of neon lighting fixtures from the 1930’s. The front lobby, ticketing and concession stand were reconfigured and the decorative plaster moldings and millwork reused. Structural renovations included a retractable stage and infill flooring at the removed orchestra pit of the main house adding new seating and correcting sight lines. An elevator was introduced to interconnect the various floor levels along with other renovations for accessibility. The theater remained open throughout construction.

Most notably in the neighborhood, a new iconic Coolidge Corner Theatre marquee was installed above the main entrance. This 42 x 62 foot tall marquee in steel and painted aluminum polycarbonate, was designed by a local public artist, lit dramatically in neon, and heralded in a new era for the theatre.


Favermann Designs